It’s been a while (I know, but I do honestly have a whole series of excuses that do truly add up to a reason, I promise) but apparently we’re not being forgotten!

Nawwww!!!

Through the magic that is NaNoWriMo, I found a new friend – Tracy of Snagglewordz, who just today included this humble blog on her list for the Versatile Blogger Award. Now, my Google-fu is non-existent so I can’t find the actual genesis of this whole thing, but in a nutshell it’s a peer-based way of spreading the love and recognition of the work it takes to blog about something.

So, there are some rules, apparently. I’m shamelessly glomming these from Tracy’s blog, so thanks luv…

!! Thank the blogger who nominated you. THANK YOU TRACY!!!
!! Add the Versatile Blogger Award pic on your blog post
!! Share 7 random things about yourself
!! Award 15 recently discovered blogs you enjoy reading
!! Inform the bloggers of their award

Seven Random Things About Me

1. I’m allergic to mangoes, and that makes me sad.
2. I collect hobbies.
3. Once, when I was at boarding school, I snorted WizzFizz on a dare – that totally cured me of any desire 4. I might have had to snort drugs.
5. I love post-apocalyptic movies but I hate movies with cannibalism in them.
6. I have a really big gap between my two top front teeth
7. I have a phobia of water, particularly swimming in the ocean.

Blogs I’m Awarding

Disclaimer: I don’t keep up well with blogs, and I don’t read a great many. So my list is a bit shy of fifteen, and for that I do apologise. Think of it like this – all the aweomeness of the empty spaces on the list is still contained in the spaces I did fill! So, in no particular order:

1. Kilcowera Station – This is my mother’s blog, where she talks about not only current events in life on the station where I grew up, but where she also crusades to educate the masses about life in the middle of nowhere.

2. Little Farm In The City – I was close friends at high school with Emily, the charming author of this wide-eyed experience of a blog about the road to sustainable living in a city environment. (Her adventures make me feel more than a little inadequate about my own abortive efforts at DIY stuff…)

3. Eine Saite – Another Tracy, this one is a fibre artist like me but a much more talented and accomplished one. I am in awe of her abilities with a spindle.

4. Backstrap Weaving – The author of Award-winner #3 put me onto this blog, and while I don’t understand about 90% of what I read there, I love reading about the deep and rich history and geography of this tiny corner of the fibre-craft world.

5. StoneLeafMoon – Linda is another online friend from the Ravelry ranks, and another of my spindle-craft heroes. The blog’s worth the read for her forthright opinions on the subject of “art” yarn alone.

6. Neil Kramer – Neil is a philospher with an occult-ish bent, but even if you’re not interested in that particular facet, his writing is charming and inspiring and worth reading purely for its own sake.

7. Occult of Personality – Greg does a podcast during which he interviews respected, infamous, controversial and legendary names in the occult community. I admire his dedication to being even-handed and open-minded, and his interviews are always entertaining and by far the most informative podcasts I’ve ever listened to.

8. Marieke Hardy – I’m inking this not because I think Ms Hardy needs more followers, but because she is an amazing writer, an entertaining face and voice in modern culture, and because quite frankly I have a pretty hardcore girl-crush on her.

9. The Yarn Harlot – Again, I don’t think Steph Pearl-McPhee lacks followers! But her sense of humour and mild self-depracation make this blog truly endearing to read. She’s also very prolific, which I admire more than I can possibly tell you!

