I never want to see this yarn again.

That’s not to say I’m not proud of it – to a point. It’s beautiful – smooth, incredibly consistent (well, it does have six plies, after all!), ridiculously strong. Visually, it does what I wanted it to do. It’s flecky with white and multi-dimensional, rich browns, and it does have a certain grace to it. But on the other hand, I’m really disappointed with how fine it turned out. I wanted a bulky-weight yarn – or at the very least aran-weight. Instead, I’ve got DK!!! It’s so fine! In a way this is a great achievement, but then again it wasn’t what I was going for. So in that sense it isn’t a successful expression of my vision. It’s 200g and approximately 200m, and it’s going at the very back of my stash until I have the wherewithal to face it again.

Without more ado, please welcome – Reversed Ptarmigan.

On the bobbin - bulky Ashford flier

Reversed Ptarmigan

Reversed Ptarmigan

Sorry to be a bit down on this one – it was a challenging yarn to spin, and I’m just a bit demoralised by the whole thing. I think I feel kind of like it beat me up! I still have to complete the final draft of the Hedgehog yarn, and then I am planning a beautiful, coloured single ply! But all that has to wait till my leg recovers, so bear with me!

